View pictures
Theatre

Alle schone dingen (Every Brilliant Thing)

Toneelhuis, Olympique Dramatique, Tom Dewispelaere

You’re seven years old. 
Mum’s in hospital. 
Dad says she’s ‘done something stupid’.
She finds it hard to be happy. 


Alle schone dingen is the story of a boy who, in order to give renewed hope to his depressed and suicidal mother, makes a list of everything that’s brilliant about the world. Everything that’s worth living for. 

1. Dame blanche 
2. Kung Fu films 
3. Staying up late and being allowed to watch TV
4. The colour yellow

Every day, he puts a note under her pillow with something that’s brilliant written on it. "And I know she reads them because they always come back corrected." 

Despite the heavy theme, Alle schone dingen is first and foremost a witty, moving and comforting tale in an intimate setting. An actor, a few props and a couple of delightful jazz numbers – nothing else.

In recent years, the monologue Every Brilliant Thing by British playwright Duncan Macmillan has captured the hearts of audiences and critics around the world and it is now playing in Flanders for the first time. Tom Dewispelaere steps into the shoes of the narrator and takes the audience with him on a search for what makes life worth living. 

A heart-warming story for these troubled times.  
A little present for those willing to help unwrap it. 

 

Anyone with questions about suicide can contact the Suicide Line anonymously via the toll-free number 1813 or on the website.

Dewispelaere finds poetry in his manner of engaging with the audience. Their half-scripted interventions result in disarming moments.

"Dewispelaere’s performance touches the heart and leaves a warm fire burning there."

Astrid Soetewey in Etcetera , 11 September 2023

"Rather than playing the fraught emotional card, Alle schone dingen above all aims to provide a warm, comforting bath. This production succeeds convincingly in that. The humour smooths off the sharpest edges, to deliver an ode to life. There’s always hope, is the optimistic message, even when things are difficult. Or as the line in the script goes: “If you live a long life and get to the end of it without ever once having felt crushingly depressed, then you probably haven't been paying attention.""

Nina Dillen in De Tijd , 9 September 2023

"Tom Dewispelaere wields this profoundly human uncertainly as a weapon against loneliness and suicidal depression."

Lotte Ogiers in Pzazz , 8 September 2023

text

  • Duncan Macmillan, met extra materiaal van Jonny Donahoe

translation

  • Sanne Parlevliet

performance

  • Tom Dewispelaere

coaching

  • Katelijne Damen

light design

  • Frank Hardy

production

  • Toneelhuis
  • Olympique Dramatique

All data

  1. Wednesday 22 May 2024 — 20h00 — Paterskerk, Sint-Niklaas
  2. Thursday 23 May 2024 — 20h00 — Paterskerk, Sint-Niklaas
  3. Friday 24 May 2024 — 20h15 — Theaterzaal Het Applauws, Lauwe, Menen
  1. Wednesday 6 September 2023 — 20h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  2. Thursday 7 September 2023 — 20h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  3. Friday 8 September 2023 — 20h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  4. Wednesday 13 September 2023 — 20h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  5. Thursday 14 September 2023 — 20h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  6. Friday 15 September 2023 — 20h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  7. Saturday 16 September 2023 — 20h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  8. Sunday 17 September 2023 — 15h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  9. Tuesday 19 September 2023 — 20h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  10. Wednesday 20 September 2023 — 20h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  11. Thursday 21 September 2023 — 20h00 — Kambala, Kambalastraat 1, Antwerpen
  12. Tuesday 3 October 2023 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  13. Wednesday 4 October 2023 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  14. Thursday 5 October 2023 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  15. Friday 6 October 2023 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  16. Saturday 7 October 2023 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  17. Wednesday 11 October 2023 — 20h00 — Koningshofkerk, Schoten
  18. Wednesday 18 October 2023 — 20h00 — GC De Wildeman, Herent
  19. Wednesday 25 October 2023 — 20h00 — CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot
  20. Thursday 26 October 2023 — 20h00 — CC De Steenoven, Herzele
  21. Thursday 2 November 2023 — 20h15 — Jezuïetenkerk, Lier
  22. Tuesday 14 November 2023 — 20h15 — C-mine/Grote zaal, Genk
  23. Monday 20 November 2023 — 20h15 — Warande/Schouwburg, Turnhout
  24. Tuesday 21 November 2023 — 20h00 — Warande/Schouwburg, Turnhout
  25. Wednesday 22 November 2023 — 20h15 — Warande/Schouwburg, Turnhout
  26. Wednesday 10 January 2024 — 20h30 — Cultuurcentrum, Strombeek-Bever
  27. Thursday 11 January 2024 — 20h30 — Cultuurcentrum, Strombeek-Bever
  28. Thursday 18 January 2024 — 20h15 — CC De Kimpel, Bilzen
  29. Thursday 25 January 2024 — 20h30 — CC Zwaneberg, Heist-Op-Den-Berg
  30. Tuesday 30 January 2024 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  31. Wednesday 31 January 2024 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  32. Thursday 1 February 2024 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  33. Friday 2 February 2024 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  34. Saturday 3 February 2024 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  35. Saturday 10 February 2024 — 20h15 — CC Lokeren, Lokeren
  36. Friday 16 February 2024 — 20h00 — CC Ter Dilft, Bornem
  37. Saturday 17 February 2024 — 20h00 — Theater Vooruit, Boechout
  38. Friday 23 February 2024 — 20h00 — de Gam, Rumst
  39. Saturday 24 February 2024 — 20h00 — CC De Spil, Roeselare
  40. Wednesday 28 February 2024 — 20h15 — GC 't Blikveld, Bonheiden
  41. Wednesday 15 May 2024 — 20h00 — Theater Malpertuis, Tielt
  42. Saturday 18 May 2024 — 20h00 — Ontmoetingshuis De Brug, Aalst

News about ‘Alle schone dingen’

Also interesting productions

Honderd Theatre 16 June 2024

Honderd

Toneelhuis / Martha!tentatief / Ruud Gielens & Bart Van Nuffelen