nl fr en
Theatre

Homemade

Mokhallad Rasem, Toneelhuis, Kuno Bakker, Dood Paard

View pictures
Mokhallad Rasem and Kuno Bakker are building a place where they can live together. Where do they feel at home? And how are they going to agree?
Two men.
They want to build a house.
They gather building material to make a structure in which they will feel at home.
Where they will feel protected against the outside world.
An inviting house as well, a house that they enjoy entering.
They do this together. 

But what requirements must such a house fulfil?
How do they make something that pleases them both?
Something that meets their needs in terms of beauty, safety, security.
And durability, naturally.
Where should the windows go, for instance? For that matter, how many windows? 
Will there be a guest room so that they can receive guests? Also uninvited ones?
And what happens when the house is full? Will they put a tent up in the yard? Or should they build a second storey? 
But then, what would the neighbours think about that?
Will there be art on the walls? What colour should the walls be? Only broken white, or do they dare to use stronger colours as well?
But the biggest question is: How are they going to agree?

After their successful production De verse tijd, in which two men meet each other and build up a friendship, Mokhallad Rasem and Kuno Bakker are presenting a new project. In Homemade they continue to build, but now it’s about a place where they can live together. Now it’s time to take action. And build a home. Homemade revolves around a central question: Where do you feel at home? In looking for an answer, the play examines topical themes such as safety, fear, hospitality, prosperity and climate change. 

Credits

by and with

  • Mokhallad Rasem
  • Kuno Bakker
  • Iwan Van Vlierberghe

production

  • Toneelhuis
  • Dood Paard

met de steun van

  • de Tax Shelter van de Belgische federale overheid
  • Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter empowered by Belfius

All data

  1. Friday 1 October 2021 — 20h30 — Monty, Antwerpen
  2. Saturday 2 October 2021 — 20h30 — Monty, Antwerpen
  3. Thursday 11 November 2021 — Grand Theatre, Groningen
  4. Wednesday 17 November 2021 — 20h30 — Kaaistudio's, Brussel
  5. Thursday 18 November 2021 — 20h30 — Kaaistudio's, Brussel
  6. Tuesday 14 December 2021 — 21h00 — Frascati, Amsterdam
  7. Wednesday 15 December 2021 — 21h00 — Frascati, Amsterdam
  8. Thursday 16 December 2021 — 21h00 — Frascati, Amsterdam
  9. Friday 17 December 2021 — 21h00 — Frascati, Amsterdam
  10. Friday 4 February 2022 — Theater Kikker, Utrecht
  11. Saturday 5 February 2022 — Theater Kikker, Utrecht
  12. Thursday 10 February 2022 — 20h30 — Concordia, Enschede
  13. Friday 11 February 2022 — 20h15 — Rotterdamse Schouwburg, Rotterdam
  14. Wednesday 23 February 2022 — Theater De Nieuwe Vorst, Tilburg
  15. Tuesday 8 March 2022 — Theater Peeriscoop, Gorinchem
  1. Cancelled: Thursday 18 March 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  2. Cancelled: Friday 19 March 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  3. Cancelled: Saturday 20 March 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  4. Cancelled: Sunday 21 March 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  5. Cancelled: Friday 26 March 2021 — 20h30 — Kaaistudio's, Brussel
  6. Cancelled: Saturday 27 March 2021 — 20h30 — Kaaistudio's, Brussel
  7. Cancelled: Wednesday 31 March 2021 — 20h30 — C-mine, Genk
  8. Cancelled: Thursday 1 April 2021 — 20h30 — 30CC, Leuven
  9. Cancelled: Saturday 3 April 2021 — 20h30 — Monty, Antwerpen
  10. Cancelled: Wednesday 7 April 2021 — 20h00 — De Goudse schouwburg, Gouda
  11. Cancelled: Tuesday 20 April 2021 — 21h00 — Frascati, Amsterdam
  12. Cancelled: Wednesday 21 April 2021 — 21h00 — Frascati, Amsterdam
  13. Cancelled: Thursday 22 April 2021 — 21h00 — Frascati, Amsterdam
  14. Cancelled: Friday 23 April 2021 — 21h00 — Frascati, Amsterdam
  15. Cancelled: Saturday 24 April 2021 — 21h00 — Frascati, Amsterdam
  16. Cancelled: Wednesday 28 April 2021 — 20h30 — Theater De Nieuwe Vorst, Tilburg
  17. Cancelled: Thursday 29 April 2021 — 20h30 — Rotterdamse Schouwburg, Rotterdam
  18. Cancelled: Friday 30 April 2021 — 20h30 — ARSENAAL/LAZARUS, Mechelen
  19. Cancelled: Saturday 1 May 2021 — 20h30 — Theater De Lieve Vrouw, Amersfoort
  20. Thursday 6 May 2021 — 20h00 — Theater Kikker, Utrecht
  21. Friday 7 May 2021 — 20h00 — Theater Kikker, Utrecht
  22. Saturday 8 May 2021 — 20h00 — Theater Kikker, Utrecht
  23. Sunday 9 May 2021 — 15h00 — Plein Theater, Amsterdam
  24. Cancelled: Tuesday 11 May 2021 — 20h30 — Theater Peeriscoop, Gorinchem
  25. Cancelled: Wednesday 12 May 2021 — 20h30 — Theater Malpertuis, Tielt
  26. Cancelled: Thursday 13 May 2021 — 20h30 — Verkadefabriek, Den Bosch
  27. Cancelled: Friday 14 May 2021 — 20h30 — Theater Ins Blau, Leiden
  28. Saturday 15 May 2021 — 20h30 — Corrosia, Almere
  29. Cancelled: Tuesday 18 May 2021 — 20h00 — Toneelschuur, Haarlem
  30. Wednesday 19 May 2021 — 20h30 — Concordia, Enschede
  31. Thursday 20 May 2021 — 20h30 — Chassé Theater,, Breda
  32. Friday 21 May 2021 — 20h15 — Theater aan het Spui, Den Haag
  33. Cancelled: Saturday 22 May 2021 — 21h00 — Theater Bouwkunde, Deventer
  34. Cancelled: Tuesday 25 May 2021 — 20h30 — Grand Theatre, Groningen
  35. Cancelled: Wednesday 26 May 2021 — 20h30 — Theater aan het Vrijthof, Maastricht
  36. Cancelled: Thursday 27 May 2021 — 20h30 — de meervaart, Amsterdam
  37. Wednesday 9 June 2021 — Theater Ins Blau, Leiden
  38. Friday 11 June 2021 — Verkadefabriek, Den Bosch
  39. Saturday 12 June 2021 — MIMIK, Deventer
  40. Thursday 17 June 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  41. Friday 18 June 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  42. Saturday 19 June 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  43. Sunday 20 June 2021 — 15h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  44. Thursday 24 June 2021 — Theater De Lieve Vrouw, Amersfoort
  45. Tuesday 17 August 2021 — 20h00 — Theaterfestival Boulevard, Den Bosch - s Hertogenbosch
  46. Wednesday 18 August 2021 — 20h00 — Theaterfestival Boulevard, Den Bosch - s Hertogenbosch
  47. Wednesday 8 September 2021 — Corrosia, Almere
  48. Thursday 16 September 2021 — 20h15 — Theater aan het Spui, Den Haag
  49. Friday 17 September 2021 — 20h00 — de meervaart, Amsterdam

News about ‘Homemade’

Comments (0)

Leave your reactions here!

Toneelhuis is happy to provide a forum for theatre-goers to share their views, but we are not responsible for the content of the messages. Furthermore, we reserve the right not to publish messages if the language is inappropriate.

Your email address will not be shown publicly.

Also interesting productions

Zielzoekers Performance 9 October 2021 until 12 January 2022

Zielzoekers

Mokhallad Rasem / Theater Malpertuis / Toneelhuis