nl fr en
Theatre

Looking for habibi

Toneelhuis, Dood Paard, Mokhallad Rasem, Kuno Bakker, Janneke Remmers

View pictures
Three actors, a singer and a musician are looking for love. 

Together, they reflect on this big emotion that can direct itself toward so much. The child you bring into the world, the person you live with, the land you live on. But also the country in which you were born, the chair your father always sat on, the smell of rosemary, the gun you use to kill your enemy. 

Using text, vocals and sound, they formulate images on a landscape of sand.

Feelings live in people, but people live in their love.
That is not a metaphor, but reality: love is not so bound to the ‘I‘ that it can only have ‘you’ as its object; it exists between the ‘I’ and the ‘you’.

Looking for habibi is the last part of a trilogy. After meeting in De verse tijd and living together in Homemade, Mokhallad Rasem and Kuno Bakker are now investigating love, in collaboration with actor Janneke Remmers, vocalist Britt Truyts and instrumentalist Peter Verhelst. 

Credits

by and with

  • Mokhallad Rasem
  • Kuno Bakker
  • Britt Truyts
  • Janneke Remmers
  • Peter Verhelst

production

  • Toneelhuis
  • Dood Paard

with the support of

  • de Tax Shelter van de Belgische federale overheid
  • Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter

All data

  1. Thursday 19 May 2022 — 20h30 — Theater De Nieuwe Vorst, Tilburg
  2. Friday 20 May 2022 — 20h30 — Stadstheater Arnhem, Arnhem
  3. Tuesday 24 May 2022 — 20h00 — Theater Kikker, Utrecht
  4. Wednesday 25 May 2022 — 20h00 — Theater Kikker, Utrecht
  5. Thursday 26 May 2022 — 20h00 — Theater Kikker, Utrecht
  6. Saturday 28 May 2022 — 20h30 — MIMIK, Deventer
  7. Tuesday 31 May 2022 — 20h30 — Corrosia, Almere
  8. Friday 3 June 2022 — 20h30 — Chassé Theater,, Breda
  9. Saturday 11 June 2022 — 20h15 — ARSENAAL/LAZARUS, Mechelen
  10. Sunday 12 June 2022 — 14h30 — de meervaart, Amsterdam
  1. Thursday 21 April 2022 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  2. Friday 22 April 2022 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  3. Saturday 23 April 2022 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  4. Sunday 24 April 2022 — 15h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  5. Thursday 28 April 2022 — 20h30 — Frascati, Amsterdam
  6. Friday 29 April 2022 — 20h30 — Frascati, Amsterdam
  7. Saturday 30 April 2022 — 20h30 — Frascati, Amsterdam
  8. Friday 6 May 2022 — 20h30 — Theater De Lieve Vrouw, Amersfoort
  9. Saturday 7 May 2022 — 20h00 — Theater De Verbeelding, Purmerend
  10. Wednesday 11 May 2022 — 20h30 — Theater Ins Blau, Leiden
  11. Thursday 12 May 2022 — 20h30 — Cultuurpodium Groene Engel, Oss
  12. Friday 13 May 2022 — 20h15 — Theater aan het Spui, Den Haag
  13. Saturday 14 May 2022 — 20h15 — Rotterdamse Schouwburg, Rotterdam
  14. Sunday 15 May 2022 — 15h00 — Bijlmer Parktheater, Amsterdam

Comments (0)

Leave your reactions here!

Toneelhuis is happy to provide a forum for theatre-goers to share their views, but we are not responsible for the content of the messages. Furthermore, we reserve the right not to publish messages if the language is inappropriate.

Your email address will not be shown publicly.

Also interesting productions