nl fr en
Theatre

Titus Andronicus

Deafening racket
Dubious silences
Hypocritical pathos

Titus Andronicus, far and away Shakespeare's most bestial play, bombards the ears with obscenities. This brutal ode to ugliness is delightfully dirty and comically crude. Political intrigue, rabid racism, unadulterated madness and cannibalism to boot. People are murdered, raped and maimed with a vengeance.

The modern reader reads the play with the same horror as he might look at the world news.
So welcome to hell!

A hell peopled by immoral monsters who suffer and cause suffering. Olympique Dramatique and KVS join forces for a gloriously anarchistic dissertation about violence, a black and ruthless punk production in the immortal verses of the bard.

Credits

director

  • Raven Ruëll

by

  • William Shakespeare

author

  • Hildegard De Vuyst
  • Ellen Stynen

after

  • Titus Andronicus

performance

  • Koen De Graeve
  • Jeroen Vander Ven
  • Greet Verstraete
  • Olympique Dramatique
  • Wouter Hendrickx
  • Ben Segers
  • Mieke Verdin
  • Willy Thomas
  • Guy Dermul
  • Geert Van Rampelberg
  • Stijn Van Opstal

scenography

  • Herman Sorgeloos

light design

  • Harry Cole

costume design

  • Ilse Vandenbussche

production

  • KVS
  • Toneelhuis

All data

Er zijn geen aankomende activiteiten voor dit event.

  1. Friday 6 November 2009 — 20h00 — KVS - BOL, Brussel
  2. Saturday 7 November 2009 — 20h00 — KVS - BOL, Brussel
  3. Wednesday 11 November 2009 — 20h00 — KVS - BOL, Brussel
  4. Thursday 12 November 2009 — 20h00 — KVS - BOL, Brussel
  5. Friday 13 November 2009 — 20h00 — KVS - BOL, Brussel
  6. Saturday 14 November 2009 — 20h00 — KVS - BOL, Brussel
  7. Sunday 15 November 2009 — 20h00 — KVS - BOL, Brussel
  8. Wednesday 18 November 2009 — 20h00 — KVS - BOL, Brussel
  9. Thursday 19 November 2009 — 20h00 — KVS - BOL, Brussel
  10. Friday 20 November 2009 — 20h00 — KVS - BOL, Brussel
  11. Saturday 21 November 2009 — 20h00 — KVS - BOL, Brussel
  12. Tuesday 24 November 2009 — 20h00 — KVS - BOL, Brussel
  13. Wednesday 25 November 2009 — 20h00 — KVS - BOL, Brussel
  14. Thursday 26 November 2009 — 20h00 — KVS - BOL, Brussel
  15. Friday 27 November 2009 — 20h00 — KVS - BOL, Brussel
  16. Wednesday 2 December 2009 — 20h00 — NTGent - schouwburg, Gent
  17. Thursday 3 December 2009 — 20h00 — NTGent - schouwburg, Gent
  18. Friday 4 December 2009 — 20h00 — NTGent - schouwburg, Gent
  19. Saturday 5 December 2009 — 20h00 — NTGent - schouwburg, Gent
  20. Wednesday 9 December 2009 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  21. Thursday 10 December 2009 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  22. Friday 11 December 2009 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  23. Saturday 12 December 2009 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  24. Tuesday 15 December 2009 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  25. Wednesday 16 December 2009 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  26. Thursday 17 December 2009 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  27. Friday 18 December 2009 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  28. Saturday 19 December 2009 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  29. Friday 20 April 2012 — 21h00 — KVS - BOL, Brussel
  30. Saturday 21 April 2012 — 21h00 — KVS - BOL, Brussel
  31. Sunday 22 April 2012 — 21h00 — KVS - BOL, Brussel
  32. Wednesday 25 April 2012 — 21h00 — KVS - BOL, Brussel
  33. Thursday 26 April 2012 — 21h00 — KVS - BOL, Brussel
  34. Friday 27 April 2012 — 21h00 — KVS - BOL, Brussel
  35. Saturday 28 April 2012 — 21h00 — KVS - BOL, Brussel
  36. Wednesday 13 June 2012 — 21h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen

Nieuws over ‘Titus Andronicus’

Video — 1 December 2009

Titus Andronicus op het Exqi Cultuurjournaal

De obsceniteiten vliegen je om de oren in Titus Andronicus, veruit het meest beestachtige stuk van Shakespeare. Het is heerlijk vuil en amusant grof, een wreedaardige ode aan de lelijkheid.

Comments (0)

Leave your reactions here!

Toneelhuis is happy to provide a forum for theatre-goers to share their views, but we are not responsible for the content of the messages. Furthermore, we reserve the right not to publish messages if the language is inappropriate.

Your email address will not be shown publicly.

Ook interessante producties

Freud Theatre 22 October 2020 until 31 October 2020

Freud

Ivo van Hove / Internationaal Theater Amsterdam / Toneelhuis