nl fr en
Theatre

April

Guy Cassiers, Toneelhuis, de Koe

View pictures
Two people meet in a room and talk for two hours. After that talk, war breaks out.
In July 1990, April Glaspie, the American ambassador in Iraq, sat down with Saddam Hussein, president of Iraq. A few days later Iraq invaded Kuwait. The reaction was not long in coming: in the Spring of 1991, a coalition led by the US invaded Iraq. The first Gulf War was a fact. 

What exactly was said between April Glaspie and Saddam Hussein?
Why did we never hear anything more about April after that?
What role did CNN play in our perception of the conflict?
Did that war disrupt relations with the Arab world for good?
 
Willem de Wolf tries in particular to investigate the female and Arab perspectives as opposed to the hyperbole of the white Western perception in his text. Guy Cassiers uses visual technology to reconstruct the traces of media manipulation in footage from 30 years ago. It is up to the spectators to put all the pieces of the puzzle together and draw their own conclusions.

Credits

director

  • Guy Cassiers

text

  • Willem de Wolf

production

  • Toneelhuis

with

  • Katelijne Damen
  • Eelco Smits
  • e.a.

coproduction

  • de Koe

with the support of

  • de Tax Shelter van de Belgische federale overheid
  • Casa Kafka Pictures Tax Shelter empowered by Belfius

All data

  1. Thursday 22 April 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
    Launch ticket sales t.b.c.
  2. Saturday 24 April 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
    Launch ticket sales t.b.c.
  3. Sunday 25 April 2021 — 15h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
    Launch ticket sales t.b.c.
  4. Tuesday 27 April 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
    Launch ticket sales t.b.c.
  5. Wednesday 28 April 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
    Launch ticket sales t.b.c.
  6. Thursday 29 April 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
    Launch ticket sales t.b.c.
  7. Friday 30 April 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
    Launch ticket sales t.b.c.
  8. Saturday 1 May 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
    Launch ticket sales t.b.c.
  9. Tuesday 4 May 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
    Launch ticket sales t.b.c.
  10. Wednesday 5 May 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
    Launch ticket sales t.b.c.
  11. Thursday 6 May 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
    Launch ticket sales t.b.c.
  12. Friday 7 May 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
    Launch ticket sales t.b.c.
  13. Saturday 8 May 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
    Launch ticket sales t.b.c.
  14. Tuesday 11 May 2021 — cultuurcentrum Hasselt, Hasselt
    Cancelled
  15. Friday 14 May 2021 — 20h00 — Grote zaal ITA, Amsterdam
    Cancelled
  16. Saturday 15 May 2021 — 20h00 — Grote zaal ITA, Amsterdam
    Cancelled
  17. Sunday 16 May 2021 — 15h00 — Grote zaal ITA, Amsterdam
    Cancelled
  18. Friday 28 May 2021 — 20h00 — NTGent - schouwburg, Gent
  19. Saturday 29 May 2021 — 20h00 — NTGent - schouwburg, Gent
  20. Friday 4 June 2021 — Kaaitheater, Brussel
  21. Saturday 5 June 2021 — Kaaitheater, Brussel
  22. Sunday 6 June 2021 — 15h00 — Kaaitheater, Brussel

Ook interessante producties