View pictures
Theatre

Van den vos

Toneelhuis, FC Bergman

The mist hangs in thick banks over the vegetation. In the dim light we see time slip by. Something shoots past the plants and disappears again. The mist thickens and fills the forest with a dense blanket of cloud until all that is left is a solid, white mass. Lost, he steps through this smog, groping his way through the wood. The wood creaks and whispers. He wades through the ferns and cautiously calls a name. It sounds like: “Vos!” and “Vos?” - “Fox!” and “Fox?”. And the ferns whisper with him. And he can barely see a hands-breadth in front of his eyes in the fog which envelops him like a thick blanket.

FC Bergman & Co.’s idiosyncratic adaptation of the epic animal poem Van de vos Reynaerde (On Reynard the Fox) was received as “crazily good theatre”. Liesa Van der Aa and the Berlin genre-crossing Solistenensemble Kaleidoskop composed the music for this music theatre production. Josse De Pauw provided the words. Dirk Roofthooft, Viviane De Muynck and Gregory Frateur appear in the play along with a number of volunteers.

The production has been selected for the Theatre Festival 2014.

A quote from the jury’s report : "This tour de force shows that these young theatre-makers can write their own new and visually arresting chapter in our theatre history. Van den vos is a milestone in their development and oeuvre because here visual splendour and powerful content find the perfect balance.”

With the support of the Culture Programme of the European Union

by and with

  • Bart Hollanders
  • Stef Aerts
  • Marie Vinck
  • Joé Agemans
  • Thomas Verstraeten

by

  • FC Bergman

text

  • Josse De Pauw

with

  • e.a.
  • Dirk Roofthooft
  • Viviane De Muynck

actors

  • Janelle Vanes
  • Vicky van Bellingen
  • June Voeten
  • Cedric Van Den Abbeele
  • Bent Simons
  • Frederick Bruyninckx
  • Wim Verachtert

extras

  • Geert Goossens
  • Marc Moens
  • Willy Verbruggen
  • Jos De Raedt
  • Guy Willekens
  • Emile De Bekker
  • Jan Rottiers

light design

  • FC Bergman
  • Ken Hioco

sound design

  • Alex Fostier

lyrics

  • Craig Ward
  • Gregory Frateur

musical adaptation

  • Daniella Strasfögel
  • Michael Rauter
  • Kaleidoskop
  • Liesa Van der Aa

costume design

  • An D'Huys

live music

  • Kaleidoskop

sponsors

  • Gavra
  • Agfa-Gevaert N.V.
  • Floor Gres
  • Vranckx
  • Amadea
  • Boudewijn Sea Park

movement advice

  • Ken Hioco

production

  • Toneelhuis
  • Kaleidoskop
  • Muziektheater Transparant

with the support of

  • programme Culture de l’Union européen

in collaboration with

  • Wiener Festwochen
  • Stadsschouwburg Amsterdam
  • Le Phénix, Scène nationale de Valenciennes
  • Operadagen Rotterdam
  • Kaaitheater
  • Berliner Festspiele / Foreign Affairs

All data

There are no upcoming activities for this event.

  1. Thursday 5 December 2013 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  2. Friday 6 December 2013 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  3. Saturday 7 December 2013 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  4. Wednesday 11 December 2013 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  5. Thursday 12 December 2013 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  6. Friday 13 December 2013 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  7. Saturday 14 December 2013 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  8. Sunday 15 December 2013 — 15h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  9. Tuesday 17 December 2013 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  10. Wednesday 18 December 2013 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  11. Thursday 19 December 2013 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  12. Friday 20 December 2013 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  13. Saturday 21 December 2013 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  14. Thursday 16 January 2014 — Grote zaal ITA, Amsterdam
  15. Friday 17 January 2014 — Grote zaal ITA, Amsterdam
  16. Saturday 18 January 2014 — Grote zaal ITA, Amsterdam
  17. Friday 24 January 2014 — Kaaitheater, Brussel
  18. Saturday 25 January 2014 — Kaaitheater, Brussel
  19. Friday 31 January 2014 — C-mine/Grote zaal, Genk
  20. Saturday 1 February 2014 — C-mine/Grote zaal, Genk
  21. Friday 7 February 2014 — Le Phénix, Valenciennes
  22. Saturday 8 February 2014 — Le Phénix, Valenciennes
  23. Wednesday 14 May 2014 — 21h00 — Wiener Festwochen, Wenen
  24. Thursday 15 May 2014 — 21h00 — Wiener Festwochen, Wenen
  25. Friday 16 May 2014 — 21h00 — Wiener Festwochen, Wenen
  26. Saturday 17 May 2014 — 16h00 — Wiener Festwochen, Wenen
  27. Friday 23 May 2014 — Theater Rotterdam, Rotterdam
  28. Saturday 24 May 2014 — Theater Rotterdam, Rotterdam
  29. Sunday 25 May 2014 — Theater Rotterdam, Rotterdam
  30. Thursday 26 June 2014 — 21h00 — Berliner Festspiele | Foreign Affairs, Berlijn
  31. Friday 27 June 2014 — 21h00 — Berliner Festspiele | Foreign Affairs, Berlijn
  32. Thursday 7 August 2014 — 21h00 — Theaterfestival Boulevard, Den Bosch - s Hertogenbosch
  33. Friday 8 August 2014 — 21h00 — Theaterfestival Boulevard, Den Bosch - s Hertogenbosch
  34. Saturday 9 August 2014 — 21h00 — Theaterfestival Boulevard, Den Bosch - s Hertogenbosch
  35. Thursday 4 September 2014 — 21h00 — Theaterstudio deSingel, Antwerpen
  36. Friday 5 September 2014 — 21h00 — Theaterstudio deSingel, Antwerpen
  37. Saturday 6 September 2014 — 21h00 — Theaterstudio deSingel, Antwerpen
  38. Sunday 7 September 2014 — 21h00 — Theaterstudio deSingel, Antwerpen
  39. Thursday 17 March 2016 — Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg, Luxemburg
  40. Friday 18 March 2016 — Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg, Luxemburg

Also interesting productions