nl fr en
Dance

Orphans

voorheen Move (on)

tg STAN, Kloppend Hert, Toneelhuis

View pictures
In 2020 STAN and Kloppend Hert created Move (On) with nine performers from very diverse backgrounds finding common ground partly in the work and language of the British playwright Dennis Kelly. While making the production, its creators read pretty much everything Kelly had written. His chilling 2009 play Orphans, an exploration of violence in London’s suburbs, is the real substance of Move (On), which combined that script with poetry and literature from the Middle East and also with dance. That substance has now been pared down by separating out Orphans again and performing it on its own. 

Orphans is the story of an event in the lives of three people. Helen and her husband Danny are at home celebrating the news that Helen is pregnant with their second child, but their meal is interrupted by Helen’s brother Liam, who arrives covered in blood, claiming that he found an injured boy on the street. The more Danny and Helen grill him, the more it appears that Liam is not as innocent as he makes out.

In chaotic and true-to-life dialogues, which graphically convey faltering, staccato communication, Kelly meticulously unravels a moral dilemma in which the border between good and evil is wafer-thin and the inconsiderateness of everyone’s behaviour is a metaphor for a wider discussion about racism, discrimination and social deprivation. So Orphans is an unsettling reflection on the capacity within us all to do wrong.

“Maybe there's no good and evil. just mistakes and not mistakes.”

Credits

text

  • Dennis Kelly

by and with

  • Haider Al Timimi
  • Evgenia Brendes
  • Jolente De Keersmaeker
  • Atta Nasser
  • Frank Vercruyssen
  • Gustavo Vieira

light design

  • Stef Stessel

costumes

  • Sietske Van Aerde

production

  • tg STAN

coproduction

  • Kloppend Hert
  • Moussem
  • Toneelhuis
  • kunstencentrum Vooruit

All data

There are no upcoming activities for this event.

  1. Wednesday 5 February 2020 — 20h00 — Vooruit - Theaterzaal, Gent
  2. Thursday 6 February 2020 — 20h00 — Vooruit - Theaterzaal, Gent
  3. Friday 7 February 2020 — 20h00 — Vooruit - Theaterzaal, Gent
  4. Saturday 8 February 2020 — 20h00 — Vooruit - Theaterzaal, Gent
  5. Wednesday 12 February 2020 — 20h00 — CC 't Gasthuis, Aarschot, Aarschot
  6. Thursday 13 February 2020 — 20h30 — Kaaitheater, Brussel
  7. Friday 14 February 2020 — 20h30 — Kaaitheater, Brussel
  8. Saturday 15 February 2020 — 20h30 — Kaaitheater, Brussel
  9. Tuesday 18 February 2020 — 20h00 — Cultuurcentrum Brugge, Brugge
  10. Thursday 20 February 2020 — 20h15 — ARSENAAL/LAZARUS, Mechelen
  11. Friday 21 February 2020 — 20h15 — ARSENAAL/LAZARUS, Mechelen
  12. Saturday 22 February 2020 — 20h15 — C-mine, Genk
  13. Tuesday 3 March 2020 — 20h30 — Toneelschuur, Haarlem
  14. Saturday 7 March 2020 — 20h15 — De Warande, Turnhout
  15. Tuesday 10 March 2020 — 14h00 — BRONKS, Brussel
  16. Wednesday 11 March 2020 — 20h15 — Schouwburg Kortrijk, Kortrijk
  17. Thursday 12 March 2020 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  18. Friday 13 March 2020 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  19. Cancelled: Wednesday 18 March 2020 — 20h15 — Theater aan het Spui, Den Haag
  20. Cancelled: Friday 8 May 2020 — 20h30 — Monty, Antwerpen
  21. Cancelled: Saturday 9 May 2020 — 20h30 — Monty, Antwerpen
  22. Saturday 6 June 2020 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  23. Cancelled: Friday 28 May 2021 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen

Comments (0)

Leave your reactions here!

Toneelhuis is happy to provide a forum for theatre-goers to share their views, but we are not responsible for the content of the messages. Furthermore, we reserve the right not to publish messages if the language is inappropriate.

Your email address will not be shown publicly.

Also interesting productions

11 seconds Theatre 26 June 2021 until 27 June 2021

11 seconds

Charlotte Bouckaert / Platform 0090 / Toneelhuis