View pictures
Theatre

Werken en dagen

Toneelhuis, FC Bergman

In 700 BC, the Greek poet Hesiodos wrote down a series of suggestions about the art of agriculture for his brother. This letter, titled ‘Works and Days’ (Werken en dagen), became a Farmer’s Almanac in verse form that combines agricultural advice with a guide to life in general.
FC Bergman is adopting Hesiodos’ title for its own reflection on living on (and with) the land. A life lived according to the rhythm of the seasons, the laws of the earth and the customs of the community that cultivates it. A new age, however, with new possibilities and desires, is making its way in this fragile marriage between humans and the earth.

Whereas FC Bergman’s previous production, The Sheep Song (2021) was a paean to the freedom of the individual and the manipulability of life, Werken en dagen is a veritable ode to the unstoppable power of the group and the boundless power of nature. Although in a way it also – and inevitably – becomes an elegy. 

direction, scenario, scenography

  • Stef Aerts
  • Joé Agemans
  • Thomas Verstraeten
  • Marie Vinck

performers

  • Stef Aerts
  • Joé Agemans
  • Maryam Sserwamukoko
  • Thomas Verstraeten
  • Marie Vinck
  • Fumiyo Ikeda
  • Geert Goossens
  • Roos Janssens / Susan De Ceuster / Bonnie Elias

musical composition and live performance

  • Joachim Badenhorst
  • Sean Carpio

costume design

  • An D'Huys

light design

  • Stef Aerts
  • Joé Agemans

production

  • Toneelhuis
  • FC Bergman

coproduction

  • Piccolo Teatro di Milano - Teatro d'Europa
  • Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg

with the support of

  • de Tax Shelter maatregel v/d Belgische federale overheid via Gallop Tax Shelter

All data

  1. Thursday 26 September 2024 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen Belgian premiere
  2. Saturday 28 September 2024 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  3. Sunday 29 September 2024 — 15h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen With audio description
  4. Tuesday 1 October 2024 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  5. Wednesday 2 October 2024 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  6. Thursday 3 October 2024 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  7. Friday 4 October 2024 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  8. Saturday 5 October 2024 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  9. Tuesday 8 October 2024 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  10. Wednesday 9 October 2024 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  11. Thursday 10 October 2024 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  12. Friday 11 October 2024 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  13. Saturday 12 October 2024 — 20h00 — Bourlaschouwburg, Antwerpen
  14. Tuesday 15 October 2024 — 20h00 — NTGent/Schouwburg, Gent
  15. Wednesday 16 October 2024 — 20h00 — NTGent/Schouwburg, Gent
  16. Saturday 19 October 2024 — 20h00 — CC De Spil, Roeselare
  17. Tuesday 22 October 2024 — 20h00 — 30CC/Schouwburg, Leuven
  18. Wednesday 23 October 2024 — 20h00 — 30CC/Schouwburg, Leuven
  19. Saturday 26 October 2024 — 19h30 — Grote zaal ITA, Amsterdam
  20. Sunday 27 October 2024 — 15h00 — Grote zaal ITA, Amsterdam
  21. Thursday 31 October 2024 — 20h00 — CC De Werf, Aalst
  22. Tuesday 5 November 2024 — 20h00 — De Grote Post, Oostende
  23. Friday 8 November 2024 — 20h15 — C-mine/Grote zaal, Genk
  24. Thursday 9 January 2025 — 20h15 — Warande/Schouwburg, Turnhout
  25. Friday 24 January 2025 — 20h00 — CC De Factorij, Zaventem
  26. Saturday 25 January 2025 — 20h00 — CC De Factorij, Zaventem
  27. Wednesday 29 January 2025 — 20h00 — Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg, Luxemburg
  28. Thursday 30 January 2025 — 20h00 — Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg, Luxemburg
  29. Tuesday 3 June 2025 — 20h00 — Teatro Stabile / Fonderie Limone, Torino
  30. Wednesday 4 June 2025 — 20h00 — Teatro Stabile / Fonderie Limone, Torino

Makers

News about ‘Werken en dagen’

Also interesting productions